Actual run

Extra volunteers at Lloyd parkrun yesterday, so I took the opportunity to pull on my running shoes again.

Conditions were near-perfect for running, firm underfoot, warm enough but not too hot. I started slowly as usual and reminded myself to stay slow. Did speed up a bit more than I should have done probably, but was fairly sensible, and finished in 28.56, so 9.19 per mile.

I have to admit that it felt slow and at the same time was harder work that I had expected – but then, I haven’t run for six months so really I should not be surprised. Bit of an ache in the inner side of the left foot arch for about 20 minutes afterwards but fine later in the day, and no twinges from the actual tendon so that’s good.

Now to make sure I stick to my plan of running no more often than three times a week and not more than the 5K distance during the rest of April.

Leave a Reply

