Back to square one

Three weeks ago I was looking forward to running my 50th parkrun on the Lloyd parkrun 250th event, followed a week later by the Croydon 30 and then to some nice long trail training runs in preparation for Ladybower 50 in September (plus the final running of The Jog Shop Jog 20, plus Beach Head Marathon, plus…).

Then I walked down a damp grassy bank while talking with a colleague, my left foot slipped and I fell. The foot went sideways with all my weight on it. It hurt.

I was non-weight-bearing immediately but thought/hoped I had a bad sprain. Unfortunately, X-ray showed that I’d broken my ankle (in more technical terms, I had a Weber B fracture of the lateral malleolus (distal fubula) with some displacement and some disruption of the joint space).

To say I was gutted is an understatement. I’d just got back to decent long runs and being able to really enjoy my running without worrying about my ankle, after the cycling accident that tore my left posterior tibial tendon three days after Ladybower 50 in 2013 and here I was, right back to square one.

A week after the accident I had surgery (open reduction, internal fixation) to repair it. I don’t yet know what hardware has been put in place; I should find out next week when I see the surgeon again.

Yesterday I had my first day without pain or serious discomfort – not from the break itself, but from the cast and the swelling. It made a nice change.

I also tried for the first time my “iwalk 2.0”. This is basically a high-tech peg-leg with a padded shelf facing backwards on which your injured lower leg rests. You adjust it to fit, strap yourself in… and walk! It’s amazing. I’m going to be careful not to use it too much, because I’m still having some circulation issue (associated, I think, with bruising and swelling due to oedema (fluid in the tissues) under the cast, but it is so nice to be able to stand and to use my hands while standing.

Official timetable for recovery, if all goes well, is:

  • Six weeks in a cast and non-weightbearing following the surgery (one week down, five to go, I hope);
  • Six weeks after that of rehabilitation – physio, exercises, gradually increasing partial weight-bearing and then full weight-bearing.

After that, hopefully, I will be able to start trying to run short distances and, if all goes well, start working up the distances. Again.

Leave a Reply

