Stepping out

For the last two weeks I’ve been back at the office rather than working from home, as I am now capable of making the journey in, and I don’t need to keep the bad leg elevated all the time. However, normally I would cycle in, and I’m not yet capable of six miles each way, half of it uphill, so I have to take public transport. Trams and trains, and 50-60 minutes rather than 35-40 minutes door to door, but at least I do have that option. Initially I was taking one crutch, as I was worried that my ankle might get suddenly tired on the journey home (and it did once or twice in the first week), but now I’ve ditched that. My ability to walk has definitely improved, both distance and speed. Additionally, I’ve taken the first tentative steps back towards running.

My first gentle jogging steps were around the edge of the cricket pitch outside the Striders of Croydon clubhouse. First, I walked round it, wearing my ‘Invisible Shoes’ – basically a 4 mm Vibram sole held on with a piece of cord. Then I decided to walk a lap barefoot – it feels so good underfoot, with the closely-mown grass, and there had been a bit of rain so there was a little give in the ground. Part way round I gave into temptation and jogged 20 steps (10 on each foot). It felt great! I walked a bit then jogged the same again. No pain. Twice more I jogged, 20 steps on each foot and still no pain. Grinning, I made myself walk the rest of the way round the pitch and stop.

A week or so later, worried that I was going to miss my train, I found myself jogging a little as I hurried along the pavement. A bit of a shuffling jog, perhaps, but thankfully pain-free.

Saturday morning, after the parkrun results were all sorted, I went for a gentle jog on the sports field. First, three minutes shod (VivoBarefoot Neo – my usual running shoe) then just under two minutes barefoot, stopping the moment I felt a twinge of discomfort in the area around the break.

Today, I walked to and around South Norwood Country Park, with a few short spells of jogging – about 50 paces per leg each time. Although I walked on the grass where I could, quite a bit was on the stony paths, and the sole of my left foot has definitely been a bit uncomfortable during the afternoon, but I’m very pleased to have walked more than two miles – a distance that was totally beyond consideration even a week ago.

Still a long way to go to regain strength, mobility and proprioception, and a lot of foot and leg muscle to re-grow, but hopefully in a few weeks I will be able to walk/jog a parkrun!

Leave a Reply

